Telephone:  01452 385070

Registered Charity 1167097



  Photographs by kind permission of Mike Broome  

Contact Us

Home Here and Now Vision Heritage Supporters  Whitefield Join Us USA Donations Funding Status

Data Privacy Notice

Allchurches Trust

Barnwood Trust

Diocese of Gloucester

Discover DeCrypt Friends Scheme -

click here for more information about joining

Garfield Weston       

Gloucester City Council

Gloucester Civic Trust

Gloucestershire County Council

Gloucestershire Disability Fund

Gloucestershire Environmental Trust

Gloucestershire Historic Churches Trust

Heritage Lottery Fund

National Churches Trust

Swire Charitable Trust

Sylvanus Lysons Charity

The Mercers’ Company

The Summerfield Trust

The many people who have given and are still giving their time

and expertise as volunteers


Approved Inspector

Buckley Lewis

 Mike Dutton


Avon Archaeology Ltd

 Kevin Potter

 Nick Corcos

Architect and Lead Consultant


Niall Phillips, Partner

Jonah Jay, Architect

Hettie Dix,

Assistant Heritage Consultant

CDM Consultants

Wilkins Safety Group

 Jon Wilkins, Principal

Evaluation Consultants

Earthen Lamp

 Vishalakshi Roy, Director

Interpretation Design Consultant

Exhibition Plus

Mark Magidson, Director

Taissa Csaky, Interpretation Planner and Writer

Light Perceptions

Bruce Kirk, Director

Mechanical and Electrical Engineer

Martin Thomas Associates Ltd

Anne Thomas, Director

Principal Contractor

Croft Building & Conservation Ltd

 James Nelmes, Director

 Oliver Chance, Contracts Manager

Andy Hutchings, Site Manager

Quantity Surveyor

Mildred Howells & Co

Alec Painter, Partner

Structural Engineer

Mann Williams

Jeff Stott, Director

Stephen Swinbank, Associate

Design Team


Chair of Trustees

The Revd. Canon Nikki Arthy

Rector of Hempsted with St Mary de Lode and St Mary de Crypt, Gloucester and City Canon, Gloucester Cathedral

Ernest Bratt

Richard Browning


Peter Gould

Alan Lomax

The Revd. Canon Dr Sandra Millar

Advisory Panel

Alex Bailey, Gloucester Civic Trust

Charlotte Bowles-Lewis, Principal Conservation and Design Officer, Gloucester City Council

Lisa Donel, Cultural Consultant

Nick Dyer, Headteacher, The Crypt School

Natalie Fenner, Churches Officer and DAC Secretary,

Diocese of Gloucester

Paul James, Old Cryptians’ Club and Leader of

Gloucester City Council

Revd. John A. G. Kime, Minister to St. John's Northgate

Methodist Church, Barton Street Methodist Church

The Revd. Canon Dr Sandra Millar, Head of Projects and Development for the Archbishops’ Council, Church of England

The Venerable Jackie Searle, Archdeacon of Gloucester

The Earl of Wemyss and March

Dame Janet Trotter, DBE, HM Lord-Lieutenant of Gloucestershire

Richard Graham, Gloucester MP

The Revd Peter Privett International Director of Godly Play


Nicola Dyer, Project Manager (Prince’s Foundation) (c)

Jessica Gordon, Community Engagement Officer (l)

Jenine de Vries, Project Assistant (r)

Project Team


Gloucester Civic Trust

Gloucester City Council’s Southgate Street Townscape Heritage Initiative

Gloucester Heritage Forum

Our Supporters

St Mary de Crypt is part of the

Parish of Hempsted with St Mary de Lode and St Mary de Crypt, Gloucester